Nazar and the Balance of Winter #1 (rb)

img_0122.jpg

Nazar and the Balance of Winter #1

On Fridays Wednesdays I want to share my experiment: Solo RPing. I’ve wanted to do this in concept, but couldn’t find a way to do so that worked for me. I find most GM Emulators cumbersome. Normal RPG rules are a slog for me, adding more rules was not the answer.

Enter the concept of Story Beats. The moment I saw these explained in Beating the Story by Robin Laws I knew I had my answer.

Partly because it helped me realize that stories (especially oral) aren’t really about the plot, they are about the emotions. Beats emphasize that emotional ride. I wanted a Solo RPing method that allowed me to experience the highs and lows without too much overhead.

In this episode I explain a little* of how I do this while playing Nazar the Bold. A Scoundrel I created using the 2d20 Conan rules from Modiphius and their awesome Character Generator.

*I grab one of the excellent backstories created during character generation. My character answers one of the questions in part. Then I rely on procedural (die rolls) and dramatic (asking for something from an NPC) beats. Making sure to alternate between procedural and dramatic as it comes up. The doom track starts at 2, and has a threshold of 5. When the DT is surpassed the Difficulty for the next roll is increased till DT is equal to or below.

Leave a comment